Intel rejigs technology organisation

Swan: talented and experienced technology leaders

It has not been a good week for Intel. AMD has surpassed Intel in share value while Intel’s 7nm manufacturing process has grabbed headlines for all the wrong reasons. Not to mention, the delay of its 10nm desktop CPUs for a year.

Amid these uncertainties, it is unsurprising that Intel has announced changes to its technology organisation and executive team. The move is intended to accelerate product leadership and improve focus and accountability in process technology execution.

Engineering Chief Murthy Renduchintala will leave the company on August 3, 2020.

The Technology, Systems Architecture and Client Group (TSCG) has been rejigged to various teams with their leaders reporting directly to CEO Bob Swan.

The four teams are:

  1. Technology Development: Dr Ann Kelleher will lead Intel technology development focusing on 7nm and 5nm processes.
  2. Manufacturing and Operations: Keyvan Esfarjani will oversee global manufacturing operations and continue Kelleher’s work driving product ramp and the build-out of new fab capacity.
  3. Design Engineering: Interim leader Josh Walden is a proven leader in technology manufacturing and platform engineering.
  4. Supply Chain: Dr Randhir Thakur is tasked with ensuring supply chain is a competitive advantage for Intel.

“I look forward to working directly with these talented and experienced technology leaders, each of whom is committed to driving Intel forward during this period of critical execution,” said Swan.